Persephone & Me Juniper Grove Book Tour

 photo Persephone and Me Banner.png

 photo Persephone and Me.png

Title:  Persephone & Me
Author:   Corinne Desjardins
Published:  December 10th, 2013
Genre:  Women’s Poetry
Recommended Age:  16+
Synopsis:
A poetry collection following my youthful fascination with Persephone and how she came to haunt me. I saw her constellation of characters within my own family and my own life. Ultimately, describing what I learned from the goddess.
Read FREE with Kindle Unlimited!




Author Interview:
What was the inspiration for your story?There is more than one answer to this question!  Obviously the fairytale/goddess theme was making itself known in my poetry.  I’d recently read From Girl to Goddess: The Heroine’s Journey through Myth & Legend by Valerie Estelle Frankel and that really opened my eyes.  I began to see similarities between mythic characters and the people in my own life.  Having a daughter and wanting to share a story with her (someday) is a great stimulus.

 

What kept you going throughout the writing process?

I was very fortunate to have great support in my writing coach and editor. The writing community is so full of encouragement and resources.  CampNaNoWriMo was during the spring, a much more convenient time for me than during November.

 

Who is your most meaningful character and why?

The most meaningful character is mythic Persephone, as her story became reflected in my own, and I looked to her for inspiration and meaning.

 

Can we expect to hear more from these characters in the near future?

Yes, I have ideas and outlines for a non-linear trilogy, in which the Persephone and Hades archetypes will appear.  And sing karaoke.  It’s gonna be fun, wicked, and slightly neurotic.

 

How has this story touched your life?

Realizing the meaning and structure in the heroine’s journey and how I wanted to apply what I’d learned to my own personal growth was really life-changing.   Just making the connection was enough to pull me out of the black and into the white, on my way to the red of my personal alchemy.

 

What motivated you to start writing?

Writing has always been a means of processing for me, as I am an extreme introvert.  As a teen, I had a penpal, though I soon recognized my writing was not so much for her, as it was processing for me.  In times of difficulty, I would write poetry, and the writing itself was a kind of personal therapy, and it would pull me out of the rut. Once I decided to bind the poems for my daughter to read (in the future), I thought, why don’t I try this self-publishing thing?  Maybe, just maybe, my writing out my story will help other women discover their own stories. And maybe they, too will write their stories.  Maybe that’s my purpose in this life.

 

 

EXCERPTS:

 photo Perceiving Red.png
 photo Grace.png

About the Author:

I am a writer. I love stories. I love to read. I love to write. Also love coffee, chocolate, and Merlot.

Giveaway Details:
There is a tour wide giveaway. Prizes include the following:
  • $25 Amazon gift card
  • 5 bookmarks – May be shipped to US, Canada, UK, Australia

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 photo JGBS Logo.png
One thought on “Persephone & Me Juniper Grove Book Tour

  1. Pingback: LIVE Book Tour: Persephone & Me by Corinne Desjardins

Leave a Reply

